Specials – When Malaysia first hosted ODI cricket

  The Kinrara Academy Oval in the Malaysian capital of Kuala Lumpur is currently playing host to the ICC Women’s Championship ODI series between England and Pakistan. Equipped with floodlights and having a capacity of 4,500, the ground got its first taste of ODI cricket back in September 2006, when Australia, India and the West Indies contested the DLF Cup. Here is a throwback to that triangular series.

Match 1 – Australia v West Indies

  Captain Ricky Ponting (54) and Michael Clarke (81) carried Australia to 279/9, after which openers Chris Gayle (58) and Shivnarine Chanderpaul (92) put on 136 in 18 overs. At 172/1 in the 24th over, Australia were under the pump. But Chanderpaul’s wicket triggered a sensational collapse, as the Windies lost nine for 29 to be bowled out for 201 in just 34.3 overs. Shane Watson (4/43) was adjudged Man of the Match.    

Match 2 – India v West Indies

  India’s sturdy total of 309/5 revolved around a fine 141 in 148 balls from Sachin Tendulkar, who shared a second-wicket stand of 125 with Irfan Pathan (64). Gayle hit a quick 45 in reply, before rain made its presence felt. When play was halted, the score read 141/2 in 20 overs – exactly the minimum number necessary for a result. Since the par score was 113, the Windies prevailed by 29 runs on the D/L method.

Match 3 – Australia v India

  Promoted opener Watson (79) and Clarke (64) did most of the scoring as Australia were dismissed for 244 in the final over. A two-hour rain delay revised India’s target to 170 from 29 overs, but a fiery spell from Mitchell Johnson derailed the chase. The left-arm pacer collected 4/11, including the prized scalp of Tendulkar, to reduce India to 35/5, at which point rain interrupted play again – this time for good. 

Match 4 – Australia v West Indies 

  Michael Hussey captained Australia in place of a rested Ponting, and led from the front with 109* in 90 balls. He added 165 – new Australian sixth-wicket record – with  Brad Haddin (70) to help boost the total from 104/5 to 272/6. Gayle (79) and captain Brian Lara (80) steered the chase with a blistering third-wicket stand of 151 within 20 overs, which set the tone for a West Indian win by three wickets in the 48th over.

Australia v WI_2006-07

            The victorious Australian team pose with the DLF Cup after defeating the West Indies by 127 runs in the final (source – AFP) 

Match 5 – India v West Indies

  India stayed afloat with a 16-run win, despite being dismissed for 162. The medium pace of Dwayne Smith (431) reduced the score to 38/4, which further became 78/6. Tendulkar (65) and Harbhajan Singh doubled the total by adding 78 for the seventh wicket, before the West Indies themselves slid from 44/0 to 83/6. Lara, bizarrely batting at number nine, scored 40*, but the innings ended at 146 after 41 overs. 

Match 6 – Australia v India

  This clash would decide the Windies’ opponents for the final. Save for Matthew Hayden (54), the Australian top order caved in, and at 117/6, India held the aces. Haddin (46) and Brad Hogg put on 77 for the seventh wicket to improve the total to 213, before India slumped to 96/5. Dinesh Mongia (63) and MS Dhoni added 62 for the sixth wicket, but Australia held their nerve, winning by 18 runs in the 44th over.

Match 7 (Final) – Australia v West Indies

  Unsurprisingly, Australia upped their game in the final to clinch a comprehensive win. Damien Martyn (52) and Andrew Symonds (52) put on 73 after getting together at 80/3, ensuring that Australia posted 240/6. The pace trio of Brett Lee (4/24), Nathan Bracken (3/16) and Watson then shared nine wickets to condemn the West Indies to 113 in 34.2 overs. Lee was named Man of the Match and Man of the Series.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s